2021 Councillorship aspirants: A peep at Ifelodun power blocks, their chances

As the 2021 election, for local government polls draw nearer, we shall be taking a regular look at both the Ajeromi and Ifelodun aspirants for the position of Councilors.

One thing is certain in Ifelodun and that is the fact that any candidate that will emerge will be a result of political wrestle because there’re so many interests concerning this, since Dr. Bola Ajijola,the first Executive Council Chairman of Ajeromi-Ifelodun local government is involved,  Hon Olusegun Ogunbanjo,a former Constituency representative at the House of Reps and present Apex leader of APC in Ifelodun,Hon Famakinwa, a former lawmaker, Hon Kolawole Taiwo, an incumbent House of Reps member,Hon Olumo, the present Assembly member, Hon Taiwo Adenekan, first Executive Chairman of Ifelodun and former House of Reps member and even the LGA Party Chairman, Atoyebi( since his predecessor took a slot) will all be interested in taking a slot and all are in the Apex leadership.

 We will look at the strength and weaknesses of these aspirants, some of who are gunning for tenure extension and the new ones that are hoping to unseat them. We shall look at some of the aspirants from the different wards and their chances and this does not in any way try to exclude the stronger regrouping Peoples Democratic Party or any other interest party.

We looked at these aspirants via their different platforms or caucuses and somebody will ask why since there are no more caucuses in the All Progressives Congress Party. Well as good or effective as it sounds in the ear, they still exist in the heart. Have a beautiful read.

Ward A:

 Hon Sulaiman Hassan, is the current serving Councilor who is in his first tenure in office. He is still seen as the favorite candidate of the Ifelodun Apex leader, Hon Olusegun Ogunbanjo.  But are there other serious contenders in the ward.

 Yes, one of them is Prince Toye Adedayo, a former Councilor that served only a term. This paper has it on good authority that he is making efforts to stage a comeback in the next election.

Next are Femi Otugbesan and Nurudeen Akingbade both from the Hon Kolawole Taiwo’s camp.  Another interesting candidate to watch is Akeem Rasheed, maybe popular because of his lotto business; he pulled out of Hon Kolawole Taiwo’s group to join the Omojuwa Solidarity Group (OSG) headed by Hon Tunde Omojuwa because he felt cheated out when the group adopted a less popular aspirant over him at the other dispensation in the group. 

Habib Olatoyinbo is another serious contender from this ward and he has already shown a strong intent by some of his activities in the Ward.

However, observers strongly believe that Saadu Ayanfe Adekoya aka Sherubanwo, a strong party leader in the ward may be preparing any of his children to take over the seat. However, they still see Hon Sulaiman Hassan as representing the choice of party leader Hon Olusegun  Ogunbanjo.

It is relevant to note that Hon Olusegun Ogunbanjo threw his weight behind Hon Kareem Owolabi during the old Ojo road era of Ward H.  Thereafter the creation of the new local government councils, he produced Hon Fatai Mutiu Olawole aka Dangote, who is now residing in the United States of America, after the completion of his second tenure as Councilor of that ward. Hon Sulaiman Hassan, the present Councilor is from Hon Dangote political club.

N/B Because of the length of the analysis from ward A to G,we had decided to break the publication on ward to ward

Related News

Leave a Comment